My Chocolate Chip Maple Pecan Pie of Justice

I’ve had several friends ask me for my Chocolate Chip Maple Pecan Pie recipe…so here it is (to the best of my recollection!)

I got started making pecan pies from a recipe by Mary Fillmore that you can find here:
http://www.foodgeeks.com/recipes/my-best-pecan-pie-934

But, as Emeril would say, I wanted to ‘kick it up a few notches’

The trick with Pecan Pie is that you really don’t want to make it overwhelmingly sweet. Substituting corn syrup with maple syrup helps in this regard. I also like my pie to be a little more gooey, so I dropped one of the eggs from Mary’s recipe. I also added Bourbon because someone gave me bourbon once as a Christmas present and, lets face it, Bourbon only tastes good when combined with…pie.

Now I just need to make one hundred more pies to finally kill that bottle.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup dark brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup melted butter + 1tbsp
  • 1 tbsp bourbon
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • 1.5 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1-1/2 cups pecan halves
  • 1/2 cup semisweet chocolate chips (I used Ghiradelli)
  • 1 store bought frozen pie crust (because, at the end of the day, I want my pie…FAST!)

Instructions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Brush pecans with 1tbsp melted butter and lightly toast in toaster oven
  3. Let pecans cool
  4. Combine all ingredients, except for pecans and chocolate chips in a large bowl, stir well
  5. Add the pecans and chocolate chips to the bowl. Stir.
  6. Dump the mixture into the frozen pie shell
  7. Bake until done (approx 1 hr, or until pie is set)
  8. Let sit for one hour
  9. Eat warm, with vanilla ice cream
  10. Wait 30 minutes, run on treadmill for three hours, minimum.

Leave a Reply

